top of page
MARTIN COLOGNOLI (2) copie.jpg

Martin Colognoli
 

Photographer / Marine Biologist
 

Who am I ?

I'm a photographer and marine biologist whose profile combines art and science. I'm involved in pioneering projects to raise awareness of the need to preserve biodiversity, especially aquatic biodiversity! But that's not all.

 

After working for over 15 years on coral and coral reef conservation (specialising in coral reef ecology & founder of the NGO Coral Guardian), I decided to limit my travels around our beautiful planet. I now offer my services all over the world, and all from France. 

 

I take on small and large-scale assignments, either independently or as part of a team. I'm passionate about aquatic environments, marine biology and photography, and like to discuss, mix and display them through the medium of photography.

 

For me, coral is both a miracle of life and an emblem of the protection of biodiversity. As for water, it connects the world. It is essential to life and its resource (fresh water) is under threat.

 

But above all, I am one more human being. A human being who wants to live in the world in closer collaboration with the rest of the living world.

 

What if I can help you to carry out large (or small) innovative projects? Bring you my knowledge and my photographic creations? Then don't hesitate to contact me?

Intention

Humanity has already begun to reap what it has sown, and our world is now facing an unprecedented crisis. The collapse of biodiversity and climate change are having repercussions for all forms of life on Earth. Sensitive to the observations of the global scientific community on the critical state of planetary evolution, I am seeking to provide solutions and give a utilitarian scope to my work. This subject is the very essence of what drives me today, and it's one that profoundly questions my daily life. Questioning what we want for our future seems essential to me. 

What am I not?

I'm not a communications agency.

Skills

 

My skills are multi-disciplinary, thanks to 5 years studying hydrology, biology and marine ecology, 11 years developing and managing the Coral Guardian association (13 employees worldwide), 12 years practising documentary photography underwater and on land, 1 year studying art history at the ENSBA in Lyon and, above all, 5 years living in Indonesia with traditional fishermen who are connected to the living beings around them.

ICONE-BLANC

Biography

Born on the French Mediterranean coast, I first turned my attention to the primary object of my fascination by studying hydrology, biology and marine ecology, specialising in tropical coral reefs.

My professional career began in Indonesia, as manager of a company exporting corals and other marine animals for the aquarium trade. Very enthusiastic when I arrived, I was soon disillusioned when I realised that I was participating in the pillage and legal poaching of the marine life that I cherished so much.

In spite of myself, I had contributed to the irresponsible exploitation of the marine environment and coastal populations. I realised this and decided to stop. At the end of 2010, the time had come for me to stop.

This experience made me realise that humans draw on natural resources without giving anything in return. I became determined to fight to protect what we exist for.

So in 2012, I co-founded the NGO Coral Guardian. The main idea was to protect coral ecosystems by involving the people who depend on them, in this case traditional fishermen fighting for food sovereignty. www.coralguardian.org

After organising a number of missions to protect the coral reef in Indonesia with the Coral Guardian association, I'm now getting closer to the ecosystems to which I feel directly linked on a daily basis. I'm interested in freshwater resources and Mediterranean ecosystems.
 


bottom of page

top of page
MARTIN COLOGNOLI (2) copie.jpg

Martin Colognoli
 


Auteur Photographe / Biologiste Marin
 

Qui suis-je ?

Je suis photographe et biologiste marin au profil mêlant art et science. Je m'engage dans des projets pionniers pour sensibiliser à la préservation de la biodiversité, surtout aquatique ! Mais pas que.

 

Après avoir travaillé durant plus de 15 ans sur le corail et la préservation des récifs coralliens (spécialisation en écologie des récifs coralliens & fondateur de l'ONG Coral Guardian), j'ai pris la décision de limiter mes déplacements à travers notre jolie planète. J'offre donc aujourd'hui mes services dans le monde entier, et cela, depuis la France. 

Je m'attaque à des missions de petite ou de grande envergure, de manière indépendante ou en équipe. Passionné par les milieux aquatiques, par la biologie marine et la photographie, j'aime en discuter, les mélanger et les exposer à travers le vecteur de la photographie.

Le corail est pour moi à la fois un miracle de la vie et un emblème de la protection de la biodiversité. L'eau quant-à-elle, connecte le monde. Elle est indispensable à la vie et sa ressource (eau douce) est menacée.

Mais je suis surtout un être humain de plus. Un être humain qui souhaite habiter le monde en meilleure collaboration avec le reste du vivant.

Si je peux vous aider à réaliser de grands (ou petits) projets innovants ? Vous apporter mon savoir et mes créations photographiques ? Alors n'hésitez pas à me contacter ?

Intention

L'Humanité a déjà commencé à récolter ce qu'elle a semé et notre monde est aujourd'hui confronté à une crise sans précédent. L'effondrement de la biodiversité et le changement climatique ont des répercussions sur toutes les formes de vie sur Terre. Sensible au constat de la communauté scientifique mondiale sur l’état critique de l’évolution planétaire, je cherche à apporter des solutions et donner une portée utilitaire à mon travail. Ce sujet est l'essence même de ce qui m'anime aujourd'hui et qui questionne en profondeur mon quotidien. Se questionner sur ce que nous souhaitons pour notre avenir me semble indispensable. 

Ce que je ne suis pas ?

Je ne suis pas une agence de communication.

Compétences

 

Mes compétences sont pluridisciplinaires grâce à 5 ans d'études en hydrologie, biologie et écologie marine, 11 ans de développement et de direction de l'association Coral Guardian (13 salarié.e.s dans le monde), 12 ans de pratique de la photographie documentaire sous marine et terrestre, 1 an de cours d'histoire de l'art de l'ENSBA de Lyon et surtout 5 ans de vie en Indonésie en présence de pêcheurs traditionnels connectés à la nature et aux êtres vivants qui les entourent.

ICONE-BLANC

Biographie

Né sur la côte méditerranéenne française, je me suis d'abord tourné sur l’objet premier de ma fascination en étudiant l'hydrologie, la biologie, l'aquaculture et l'écologie marine avec une spécialisation sur les récifs coralliens tropicaux.

 

Ma carrière professionnelle a débuté en Indonésie, en tant que responsable d'une société d'exportation de coraux et autres animaux marins pour l'aquariophilie. Très enthousiaste à mon arrivée, j'ai vite déchanté lorsque j'ai réalisé que je participais au pillage et au braconnage légal de la vie marine que je chérissais tant.

 

Malgré moi, j'avais contribué à l'exploitation irresponsable du milieu marin et des populations côtières. J'en ai pris conscience et j'ai décidé d'arrêter. À la fin de l'année 2010, le temps était venu pour moi d'arrêter.

 

Cette expérience m'a fait prendre conscience que l'humain puise dans les ressources naturelles sans rien apporter en retour. Je suis devenue déterminée à me battre pour protéger ce pour quoi nous existons.

 

En 2012, j'ai donc cofondé l'ONG Coral Guardian. L'idée principale était de protéger les écosystèmes coralliens en impliquant les personnes qui en dépendent, en l'occurrence les pêcheurs traditionnels qui luttent pour la souveraineté alimentaire. www.coralguardian.org

Après avoir organisé de nombreuses missions pour la protection du Corail en Indonésie avec l'association Coral Guardian, je me rapproche maintenant des écosystèmes auxquels je me sens directement lié au quotidien. Je m'intéresse à la ressource en eau douce et aux écosystèmes méditerranéens.


bottom of page